A dreadfully sad day

Used an old photograph, couldn't stand to use from from today.
Charlie, who some of you will know from when she stayed with us for a few days now and then, has really not been very well at all for a month or so. She just seemed to be wasting away despite eating more than usual. Her hair started to come out and look very raggy rather than the very sleek, svelte, cat that she was. It was obvious that she was dying, she is nearly 19 years old.
Johanna brought her along this morning, with Ruby and Eric as usual on a Monday and I phoned the vet who managed to get us in mid morning. I told him that I thought she was dying of old age. After a quick examination he agreed, her gums were very pale, and he agreed that it was the best thing to do. I was present when he gave her the injection and took her home. She was going to be cremated but Johanna thought it best if she was buried in our garden along with Robbie (RIP 2006) and Foxy (RIP 2018) so I lifted the large kitchen floor tile that I put over Foxy's grave and scraped away the soil deep enough to fit Charlie, didn't have to go far to be honest.
Ruby was with me and I had wrapped Charlie in a moses basket elasticated sheet. As I lay Charlie to rest Ruby shouted 'The Cat, The Cat'' obviously realising this was not something you normally do with cats that you've known all of your short life (she'll be three in June). I explained that Charlie was asleep and wasn't going to wake up but she can come here and talk to Charlie anytime she's at our house. I covered her over and laid the slab back down and Ruby looked at me, obviously sad not really understanding. I asked her to say 'Goodbye Charlie', which she did, and we went back into the house.
Poor Charlie, we were all very sad but for Marlane and I it was sadness mostly for Johanna who had Charlie since whe was a tiny kitten.
RIP Charlie, you'll never be forgotten, like Foxy.

Foxy
No black blobs, No scratches!! | djrose007 | Blipfoto

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.