randomgirl

By randomgirl

I tried not to cry over it

It's funny how much chaos and confusion can ensue from just one alteration in the plan. My eldest daughter was rung up out of the blue by our GP surgery this morning and offered a vaccination for lunchtime today. (We don't know exactly why, but the fact that she's autistic, so is classed as having a disability probably has something to do with it.)

I needed to drive her there and back, which wouldn't have been a problem except I then remembered I had a Tesco grocery delivery booked to arrive at around the same time. So I organised for my youngest two to carry the bags of shopping in to the house for me when it arrived. When I rang to check how it was going, they asked me "what should I use to get milk out of the carpet?"

By the time I got back they had done their best with an old rag, but I was a bit aghast to discover it was basically the whole bottle of milk that had emptied onto the carpet. One of them had been trying to be extra helpful by carrying the milk out to the freezer, but it had slipped out of her hand and ended up with a crack in it. Apparently the other daughter had attempted a duck tape repair to the bottle, but it was in vain!

One lucky element in the mishap was that it happened in the room that is just a storage area for things like the freezer and washing machine, so the carpet in question was just an old piece of carpet laid down loose. Still, I had to get the whole thing up and take it outside for a good scrub and hot water rinse, to save us from a bad smell later. After all that sadly, I still had to put away all the shopping. My walk today was very late and a bit of an afterthought. I didn't see anything much to photograph, so thought I'd blip the milk bottle instead!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.