Red, Green, and Blue

By GemmoMC

Farewell Tweets

Today's Pope Benedict XVI's last day on the job, if you will. I follow the Pope in four languages- English, French, Spanish, and Latin. The last time we were pope-less in my lifetime was after the death of Pope John Paul II. I was in Europe and France for the first time in 2005. I was asked by a non-Christian/Catholic friend what losing a pope meant personally. I didn't know how to respond. At the time I didn't feel the pope had an effect on me. I was unaware of what his significance really meant. Now in 2013 eight years later, I have a greater understanding of the papacy means. It sad to see Pope Benedict go, but if it is God's will, it will be done.

Throughout this month, news outlets have been talking about who the new pope might be and what changes the Church could tackle. It seems Americans want change. Change is good, but for the Church I think change should be taken very seriously. This is a 2000+ year old institution and I think some of the changes American Catholics want are a bit drastic.

Later in the day, I learned the Pope's tweets had been removed. The account is Sede Vacante until the next pontiff.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.