johnsw16

By johnsw16

Lockdown Anniversary

So, it's one year since the first lockdown in the UK. I thought I'd mark the day with a multi-exposure. The main photo was taken near the beginning of the lockdown with the local common deserted in the early morning soon after I'd started running as all the gyms had been closed.

One of the other images is one I've used before - my main Trumpet and source of sanity since last March. The other was taken a couple of years ago - a rehearsal in Henry Wood Hall in London for a concert in Salisbury Cathedral - before all group music-making come to a shuddering halt. 

I am an amateur musician and it's been hard to lose all the concerts for a year. But my heart goes out to all those arts professionals that have had careers put on hold with very little support from the government: many are freelance and have been very poorly served.

Let's hope that we really are at a turning point and live music and the arts will soon be back in something approaching normality.

To everyone - stay strong and stay safe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.