SweetHoney

By Honeythedog

A year ago today.

This photo was taken on this day last year, it was half past six in the morning and Darren was taking me for a walk before he set off for work. Coronavirus was around but we were still free to do as we pleased, though that freedom wasn’t going to last too much longer. Later that day, Boris announced that we were going in to lock down and life was never going to be the same again.
The past year as been very difficult for everyone. Darren had his struggles with the virus in November/December and then tragically his Dad died on Boxing Day. Darren doesn’t feel mentally as strong as he was before the lockdown started and there have been times where he’s struggled to keep himself together. Through all the past year he’s lived on his own, well apart from me and he as wondered if people in relationships and those with families have coped better with everything that’s happened. I suppose Darren can only look at his own experience, certainly being poorly with the virus was a frightening time, probably made worse by being on his own, the death of his dad soon after having the virus was almost too much to take.
Throughout all this he has continued to look after me, feed me, play with me, walk me and give me as good a life as it’s possible for a dog to have, in return I provide him with a reason to go for walks, I’ve made him laugh, I’m something he talks to, I’m something who listens to him, I’m something  he can cuddle and I’m something he loves, I’m sure the last year without my presence would have been so much harder for Darren.
There is another reason Darren will never forget the date the lockdown started as today is Darren’s birthday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.