RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Symmetry Scouting

I was all over today looking for symmetry (the theme for wide Wednesday tomorrow) in my images. My wife and I had a spirited discussion about the differences between symmetry and symmetrical the other morning. While the dictionary definitions are very similar, there are some subtle differences in implementation, especially when it comes to photography. Rather than just a mirror image, symmetry can be achieved with like items placed in a balanced arrangement - either vertically, horizontally, or radially. This realization led to many different photos, ones I wouldn't have typically taken when trying to shoot to this theme in the past. Should be interesting to see what others come up with tomorrow. I will be looking once again, but with a wider lens this time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.