Digging holes

These two men are standing beside a recently dug hole in Surrey Crescent. One hole amongst many. Beginning about four months ago, holes were dug to lay high speed cable for the internet. Part of the last election promises made by the present Government.

But I'm pretty sure this area was done early on.

Footpaths have been torn up, kerbs relaid, and new concrete put on the paths. The roads resealed. Holes are not necessary for that.

The holes are quite deep by here, and the edges of the holes make it obvious that a mechanical digger was used to dig the holes. Neither of these men, nor any of the other men passed before or after, has any digging tools.

Perhaps the ethos of the old Ministry of Works when I was young carries on to the 21st century. Before he spent his last few years working on the waterworks gang for the Hamilton City Council, my father used to say that it takes six men to dig a hole; one to do the digging and five to lean on their shovels. He ended up being the one, despite being the oldest. He could never bear being idle.

Later this afternoon, I was in the local supermarket and was approached by a man who was one of my patients many years ago now. He wanted to tell me how well he is doing. After a bit of a chat, he told me that he would like to come by my office to say hello again. A cleansing of the soul after the incident last week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.