Looking North...

...from the bridge linking the mainland (left) to the island (right). I'm looking up the Northern Sound where the ice is slowly breaking up. In the extra I'm looking south at Nattviken, the inner bay. Once the ice is gone boats will
Boats pass under the bridge I'm standing on, cross this inner bay and exit to the South Sound, when the ice is gone. The bridges can be raised so larger sailing boats can make this journey.
Today it is +13°C and feels almost tropical to us. No hat or gloves needed and only a thin fibre-pile jacket as an outer shell - wonderful.
Linking to Jan's blip, she was standing near that little hut with the conical roof, on the right, when she took her picture, looking straight across the sound.
I've also blipped a picture (23 February)  from the end of that breakwater in the distance, looking back to the bridge I'm now standing on.
In town I picked up my first new glasses in seven years, and my first varifocals ever. I'd been warned they can be hard to get used to but I seem to be lucky and they just sat on my face the rest of the day, doing their job. I feel fortunate to have got to 70 before I felt much benefit  from glasses for distance!
In the evening it was back to bread baking - anther 16 pieces of rye and spelt crispbread.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.