Rock Hound

Dear Diary,

Everywhere I travel I look for small, special rocks.  These are some of my collection from places like Mont St. Michel, Lindisfarne, Glendalough, the Burren and Iona. The larger rocks in the cairn on the right are mostly from Maine and Canada.  During my weekend class on Mystical Scotland we looked at the work of Scottish environmental artist, Andy Goldsworthy, who does amazing things with stones, and visited the standing stones at Callanish on the Isle of Lewis.   Yes, I am a bit of a rock hound I guess.  The extra is a special rock I found on Inis Meain in the Aran Islands.  It has three holes.  Finding a rock with a hole is good luck they say.  The other extra is a piece I made of rocks with white lines around them.  I can't wait to return to Scotland next year and add to my collection!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.