Life. Through my lens.

By CMOS

Tread Separation.

For the past couple of days I have felt a very noticeable lump in the front passenger side wheel of the Ford Falcon. I started to believe it was a warped brake rotor as it felt a bit like the wheel was grabbing in one spot with each rotation and the steering wheel if you took you hands off it would pull to the left every time that spot came around. I checked the tyre on the weekend and couldn't see anything. Although I had a mans look ;O)
Well today when I arrived in the city to park for work I was becoming increasingly concerned and frustrated at this vibration of the wheel so I decided to have another look. Running my hand around the tyre on the inside it was when I stabbed my finger on a piece of wire that I instantly knew that was a piece of exposed steel belt from the inside of the tyre carcass. It quickly started the car and moved it forward to expose the area that I felt and this picture shows what I was presented with!!
Since I drive on the motorway at 100km/ph each day on the way to work I think it is safe to say my discovery has allowed me to dodge a bullet. Now as I write this I have two brand new tyres and the Ford Falcon feels just like a dream to drive again. I believe the technical term the tyre guys gave me for the tyre fault was a "tread separation". Ahhhhhh there is nothing better than the feeling of rolling on fresh rubber all balanced and wheel aligned. BLISS!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.