madowoi

By madowoi

Refrigerator Art

With the changing of the seasons comes a new scene on our fridge. Once again my wife's creativity bails me out after a Zoom session for my course on special education law. It is such a treat to have her art around the house.

From the day we moved in to this place I have enjoyed watching the snowshoe hares who loiter about. They are an ever present marker of the seasons. Right now there have been two close to the house in slightly different stages of changing back to their brown summer coating (here's one in my extra). They can be quite brave in the spring and will feed on the new grass around the house without running away if we just move slowly. Soon enough we will surely see more of them, and then new babies, which are terribly cute. 

Of course, the presence of the hares no doubt also accounts in part for the coyotes which sometimes howl rather close to the house, but I like that too. They are much more secretive though; probably too difficult to get a good photo of one of them. 

Wildlife has been steadily returning, and I really should be keeping a daily log. Off the top of my head, roughly in order, the last few weeks have seen: the shrike on the marsh snag, osprey above the house, geese on the marsh, turkey vultures, song sparrows, woodcocks, and the palm warbler. There is always a steady rhythm to the way things return, syncopated with a few surprises every year. Fingers crossed we'll get something really unusual.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.