Afternoon with my Parents

It's Wednesday again, so off I went to Vancouver to see my parents, as I always do. Picked up my dad's groceries and then we had lunch together. Since it was a miserable, cold and rainy afternoon, we didn't go for a walk, but my mom and I played backgammon (you know she won!) and played "Flower Power" which is a fun word puzzle. She can't see the puzzle, but I read her the clues and any letters we've filled in and she thinks about the answer. She's amazingly good at it...and of course it's a great work out for both of our brains! 

Bad traffic on the interstate sent me the "back way" instead, and I drove up over the "hill" which are really called the West Hills or Tualatin Mountains. They have a quite an elevation and are bordered on the east by the Willamette River which bisects the city of Portland. It's a lovely, windy ride as long as there's not a lot of traffic. A two-handed drive, for sure. But it was a nice change with beautiful views. 

Back home I went to the garden and had about 10 minutes before it really started to pour rain. This beauty is called Primula vulgaris 'Oakleaf Yellow Picotee' - somewhat unusual and certainly different from one's normal primrose. It's got oakleaf shaped leaves and erect flower clumps. I saw it at my favorite nursery last week when I took the grandchildren there - no wonder it hopped into my cart :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.