Cosy Old Cardigan

By Stacebob

Carrie

I managed to cram a whole book into my brain this evening! I found Carrie a slightly odd experience; overall I thought it was incredibly enthralling and loved the way the story was broken up with essays, articles and news stories, but there were some very dated phrases in there that often pulled me right out of the story. Also, I don't think at the time of writing it that Stephen King had a proper grasp on how periods work... I was also really thrown by how basically every woman in it was described almost entirely by just their hair and breasts. Aside from Carrie herself, I don't remember any features of any of the other characters except hair and boobs. One description that actually made me laugh out loud was a character that apparently had "upright" breasts...!

8 books done for the Bookworm Challenge now! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.