Marlytyz

By Marlytyz

Nuthatch guarding her nest

I may already have mentioned that I am very new to the world of bird photography. I can talk relatively knowledgeably about landscape or street photography, but other than knowing the names of the most well known of the garden birds, this genre has passed me by. However, since lockdown, my interest has become a bit of an obsession. I am out every day, with my zoom lens, with my eyes focused upwards. In so doing I have found myself talking to so many people. Landscape photography is a fairly solitary pastime, but with bird photography people are eager to talk and point out where the next interesting creature is hiding. So it was today. An elderly man, with a huge amount of experience pointed out the nest of the nuthatch. She then obliged by popping out to sing a song, or at least that is what I interpreted it as. I am sure my knowledgeable friend had a far more educated explanation. Whatever, it was such an enjoyable experience. As I walked towards the car, two photographers in the hide beckoned me in to point out the heron hiding in the reeds. It just felt very collaborative and friendly, maybe more noticeable after months of isolation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.