Pinus radiata

Today's stamp is another from a long way away. It's a 10c New Zealand stamp depicting Pinus radiata an introduced pine tree grown on an enormous scale in New Zealand. Our last house had all red deal timber in it's construction, I gather that's builder's speak for imported pine of some sorts, probably from Australia or New Zealand in the 1930s. The UK has had timber shortages for centuries and was one of the driving forces behind the empire.

Our current house is in France, and France has never had the same timber shortages that the UK has had, so much of the timer in our house is local oak. To replace it with modern oak would be rather expensive, but French oak is still available, even if most modern wood isn't....!

I think this stamp is from 1968, another year before me, so I don't have any memories from it, obviously!

I did pretty much nothing today. though I did ironically watch the 1967 version of The Plank. I remember the TV version from the 1979, but I'd not seen the earlier film version. If you haven't seen it, it is rather silly...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.