Seelye

By Seelye

Lone cactus

This is a Buckhorn Cholla cactus that is in the area I hiked in yesterday.  It is mostly all scrub trees and scrub brush.  I located one other other cactus in the area so far.  Either they cleared them or this is just a area of scrub.  I hiked for 1.75 hours and covered almost 5 miles.  It just keeps going and going, must be terrific on a horse.  It's good to be on the dirt  instead of rocks or cement but gosh my knees sure wanted a break!

I had a Buckhorn along my garage wall when I moved in.  It would have over 200 flower blooms in the spring.  I kept it for several years but the darned thing was eating me alive everytime I walked by it and I finally had it taken out.

The extra is of the same cactus on the side where you can see an old, very deep birds nest of some kind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.