dotstop

By dotstop

The larks

As I stood on the platform, waiting for the 6.15 to Edinburgh, I heard a skylark burst into song. And then I realised the phrase ‘up with the larks’, having never really thought about it before.

Although, it wasn’t just the larks that I was up with, I had already heard pink-footed geese, gulls, a blackbird, a song thrush, goldfinches and a pheasant’s crow. It felt so calm and peaceful and still at this moment, like a kind of special bonus time, which didn’t belong to my usual day. I felt a little sad that I wasn’t up at dawn more often, not really being a morning person. Maybe that can change as you get older ?

Which reminds me, it will be International Dawn Chorus Day (the first Sunday in May) in a few weeks time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.