The Town Hall mosaic: progress!

On Feb. 19th I blipped part of the mural created by children for a community art project in 1989. I felt it was a neglected masterpiece that wasn't given the attention it deserves - wasn't on the tourist trail, nor signposted in any way. I posted some photos on local social media and got an enthusiastic response. I then found out some more about it which confirmed my feeling that it was a significant piece of community art work with links to other late 20th creative projects in Wales.

So I wrote to the town mayor who said 'leave it with me' and she has now  informed me that the local Trade and Tourism council has agreed to include the mosaic on their new website, with a short blurb by me and photographs by her (apparently she's a keen photographer!)

It's an encouraging start, although I'd still like it to have an attribution plaque,  an explanatory leaflet and actual signposting.

Here are four of the 20 'vignettes' around the main mural, all painted on to tiles by primary school pupils after they had been inspired by storytellers' tales of local history and legends.

Top left: the reconstructed Iron Age village of Castell Henllys with its roundhouses - see here in a blip by Maria in Wales.

Top right: the attempted rescue of the ship Hermina by the  Charterhouse lifeboat in 1921. (This had me puzzled until I realised that Needle Rock, where it went aground,  had cleverly been depicted horizontally rather than vertically.)

The two images below show stages in the  process of lime burning in kilns around the harbour: loading and burning  the stone and carting away the lime.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.