Wet and Windy

I planted my first veg / salad seeds in my raised bed this morning.....and forgot to take a photo. At lunchtime my new Amazon Fire TV Stick 4k arrived which I soon had up and running - although again I forgot to take a photo. During lockdown I've streamed a few plays / shows from such as the National Theatre, but I don't particularly like watching them on my iPad and the Fire TV Stick seems the easiest way to get apps for playing them on the tv. I'll find out over the weekend when I try to stream Remembering the Oscars with Janette and Aljaz from Strictly. So without a photo, I'm afraid you have raindrops on the patio doors when it was chucking it down this afternoon. 

Day 375 / Day 80 of Lockdown 3 / Day 19 of Step 1 of Roadmap out of Lockdown (for my record only)
UK deaths up 70 to 126,515 (revised basis), with 6,187 new cases, 4,852 patients in hospital, 630 on ventilation and 354 new admissions. The R rate has risen to 0.7-0.9 with a daily infection growth rate of -5% to -2%. Rates in private households have levelled in Eng at 1 in 340 people, NI at 1 in 320, down slightly in Wales at 1 in 450 and up in Scotland again at 1 in 240. Rates in NW Eng are up and show signs of increasing in Yorkshire & the Humber  - these areas seem to always be badly hit. Deaths in Mexico pass 200,000, and there were 45,641 new cases in France yesterday, 34,153 in Poland, 28,731 in Turkey, 23,696 in Italy and 22,258 in Germany. 29.3m have now received their first dose of the vaccine and 3m have had their second dose. Good news today as research by Sheffield and Oxford universities on 237 health workers shows a single dose of the Pfizer jab gave strong protection to 99% of people. It also concluded that people who'd previously had Covid had six times the immune response to 1 dose of Pfizer jab. The WHO's chief scientist says the UK's approach of a delayed 2nd vaccine dose is a good strategy. EU leaders have told AZ that it must 'catch up' on vaccine deliveries in Europe before it's allowed to export jabs to other countries. Millions of people have reserved outdoor tables at pubs and restaurants for when restrictions are lifted on 12th April. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.