Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

In Memoriam

My friend Kevin phoned this afternoon to let me know that my friend Ioannis died this morning. It wasn't unexpected. Prostate cancer had metastasised to the bones in his legs. Ioannis was more-or-less my age, I cannot now remember which of us was a little bit younger. That hardly matters now.
Ioannis was really good value for money! Such fun! He spoke enough English, German and French (maybe also Italian?) to be able to discuss his menu and share some small-talk with all of his customers.
He had a boat, he loved to go fishing and he used to take Spouse out with him for the hard manual labour aspects of long line fishing.
Kevin also had a boat, and cancer, but Kevin was better at managing his cancer than he was at fishing. Ioannis was the converse.
I am very sorry that Ioannis' hearty and wicked laugh is lost to the world. The quayside at Loutraki will never ever be the same, but he will be remembered so fondly by all, including Goldie & Kurt, who used to make a point of popping in every Summer.
Taverna     Easter     polka     padlock

I've just spotted that Greece was celebrating its 200th birthday (anniversary of liberation from the Ottoman empire) yesterday. I have no doubt that Ioannis had waited to see that one turn its page.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.