madowoi

By madowoi

Going, Coming

In a field
I am the absence
of field.
This is
always the case.
Wherever I am
I am what is missing.

When I walk
I part the air
and always
the air moves in   
to fill the spaces
where my body’s been.

We all have reasons
for moving.
I move
to keep things whole.


from Keeping Things Whole, by Mark Strand


Quite a foggy friday that even saw some thunder and lightning by the end. Frogs and salamanders all over the island will probably come out tonight and start their big migration. My wife spoke to a gentleman today who planned to help out and go carry them across busy roadways. That's some dedication right there. As I write the peepers have just started singing on the marsh for the first time this year. They definitely weren't out last night, and they weren't out an hour ago when I took my photos of the driveway. Included is The Telephone Pole, which is a significant landmark and reference point for our little homestead here. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.