simisue

By simisue

TOO EARLY FOR ROSES?

I am not an expert on growing roses, but in our area of Southern California they seem to do very well in our cool Winters, & hot dry Summers.  I have notices gardeners prune them hard in January.  They do not lose their leaves, but they seem to go somewhat dormant until late March.

Lately, on my walks & in my own yard I notice ROSES are realizing it is Spring.  Maybe it was the drenching rains we had a few weeks ago, or 
the longer hours of sunlight.after Daylight Saving Time started.
Whatever the reason, they are waking up & starting to bloom, even in my own yard.

Angus & I went a slightly different way on our walk; & I saw this 
DARK RED ROSE along a neighborhood fence, the first to bloom of this group.  When they all bloom in a few days, it will be amazing.  Angus & I will return to see that site.

There are many groups of ROSES planted along the fences in our
neighborhood, of various colors.  I wish they were better cared for, but they seem to thrive on neglect.   My favorite is the color I see on any particular day.

Today my favorite is the DARK RED ROSE..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.