cate1

By cate1

Derelict Sunday #DS238

Not so much derelict as old.  My maternal grandparents lived in a small village called Hallside in Lanarkshire.  The village grew alongside an iron and steel works that had been built perhaps in the 1800s.  The workers' houses were built in rows of eight houses; four houses two up and two down that were accessed via a common close that had the lavatory.  Each "flat" consisted of one main large room with two small bedrooms off to the side.  There was a sink with one cold tap and a small cooker with two gas rings in one corner and on the facing wall was a large fireplace with an oven and a hook for attaching a frying pan.  I think there also may have been a hotplate heated by the fire. Our family lived in a flat with a modern kitchen and inside bathroom, but we loved visiting Hallside.  One of the things we liked was when my grannie made toast using the toasting fork held over the fire.  
Apart from the fact that I'm a terrible hoarder, when I became a teacher in the 1980's I inherited a whole host of things from "the olden days" that I put to good use when teaching children about living in the past.  Most children could not believe how people lived in days gone by.     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.