Cold and Windy

It didn't rain until afternoon, but it was really chilly and very windy for the whole day. We did go on our usual Sunday morning walk in the Arboretum, but I was very glad I was as bundled up as I was. What a difference from the gorgeous day yesterday! 

As cold as it was, I still had Miranda's Wildflower Week on my mind, since the Arboretum is a grand place to find subjects. I didn't have my camera with me, only my phone (next week if it's nice I'll bring the camera and hopefully catch some Trilliums). But this is an interesting plant who's name I never knew! 

This is Lamium purpureum or Purple Dead Nettle, and a member of the Lamiaceae (or Mint) family. It grows everywhere here - it's all over the arboretum - in the grass especially. Blooming this time of year gives bees a nectar source, although of course there are other things blooming now. Apparently it will bloom a lot earlier in a mind winter, which is really good for the bees. Young plants have edible tops and leaves, which you can use in salads or stir fried. The pollen is red and is very noticeable on the bees that partake. 

Thank you so much Miranda for hosting this great challenge once again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.