Burradoo Journal

By Burradoo

Frog in the bathroom

When I was still only half awake this morning I heard my better half say “There’s a small frog in the bathroom”. She’s not keen on frogs and she spoke with some urgency.
 
He was indeed a very small frog, only about 2cms long. He was pearly grey, perhaps trying to camouflage himself on the bathroom tiles. I scooped him up and took him outdoors, and he hopped away. But what a hop. His legs when he unfolded them were several times as long as his body, and each hop carried him half a metre or more, both upwards and lengthwise.
 
I had neither the presence of mind nor the skill to photograph him, so this isn’t him. This is one of the green frogs you encounter all the time in outback bathrooms. You often see notices warning you to close the toilet cover, to keep the frogs out.
 
We photographed this one in 2011, in Eidsvold, in outback Queensland.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.