Fuentes3

By Fuentes3

Abandoned mill at Fonfría

Asturias has a lot of small rivers running down the steep slopes, and historically there were many mills driven by those streams. Some (a few) remain in good external shape and some are even still used, though not ever, that I know of, on a regular commercial basis. This mill is at Fonfría, near Villanueva,  Cabranes. There were a number of other mills in this area; this one deteriorated badly and was rebuilt, as a reminder I think rather than as a business, around the year 2000. 
As seen in the photo, it is unused and overgrown. I´m told a vixen recently raised a litter there but I don´t know. 
The family that had this mill moved into the nearby town of Santolaya and opened another mill, this time in the town centre and electric; and the miller´s grandson remains active in business in that town. 
The extras show the mill face-on, showing the water tunnel; and the bridge that I decided yet again not to cross to get closer to the mill. I think you´ll see why. 
You´ll possibly also be able to pick out, on the second extra, lying beyond the bridge but in line with it, an old mill wheel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.