Bye bye them Blues

It started with him tying my lace on Saturday.

I twisted my hip at the allotment and I couldn’t stretch out well enough to tie it tightly.

He came bounding down the stairs and bent down... and I stood and welled up as I watched him ‘hold the knot’ and ‘make a loop’ Just exactly the same way I taught him when he was four.

He hasn’t shortened it, cut out moves or changed it in any way and we laughed as he said ‘why would I change it’.

My head realised then that my Boy would be gone again soon and I struggled all weekend to keep my head up; I almost made it.

So this morning we were up and out by five and at the airport by six- and ten minutes later they were gone. Poor Si had to drag me back to the car snottering all over him.

But I’m fine now... and looking back on this photo (I made him tie them for me again this morning) I know that the four year old inside this giant man will be mine for always .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.