To See New Englandly

By distractedhausfrau

Naughty? Or Nice?

I had a couple of blip choices today.

I was sent "on assignment" to the local historical society to see if there were any new exhibits or anything interesting going on. To be honest, I rolled my eyes while I was on the phone with my editor and thought, "You've got to be kidding. Unless there's a demo going on, there's nothing interesting to photograph at the historical society."

How wrong I was! They have one new acquisition. In fact, it's so exciting, it could very well be considered indecent in some circles. Even the old-fartiest of the historical society members were titillated by this artifact. And I completely took advantage of my position as a "member of the press" (believe me, I use this term lightly) to photograph it.

What is it, you ask? And what does this photo have to do with it? It was an antique boot jack called a "Naughty Nellie." If you saw it, you'd know how it got its name. I debated whether to post it here, but I decided to go with something "nice" rather than "naughty." So here you have these lovely little weeds that pop up in my back lawn every year. I actually kind of like them. Besides, it is Easter after all and didn't feel the naughty shot was quite appropriate.



Oh...and for those who really want to see the Naughty Nellie (and I can guess who you are ;), I've posted it here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.