The Way I See Things

By JDO

Good grooming

R and I went to Stratford this afternoon, to meet up with our.... in-laws? ..... out-laws?..... I don't know if there's an accepted noun that covers our relationship, but co-grandparents is probably the neatest term I can come up with. The inaugural meeting of the Baby B Appreciation Society took place on a bench in the Bancroft Gardens, where a picnic lunch was consumed by P and M, and coffee and cake by R and me, and then coffee and cake by P and M as well, while we congratulated each other on how clever we'd been in marrying our Offspring to each other and engineering the production of the Best Baby in the World. A good time was had by all.

While walking into town along the south side of the river I'd been keeping an eye out for the tufted duck I photographed at the chain ferry ten days ago, but he wasn't there and I'd just come to the happy/sad conclusion that he'd found a flock and moved on, when we reached the rowing club and I suddenly spotted him. I'm featuring this image of him preening on the water because R likes it, but I'm adding a couple of images from a few minutes later, when he left the river and waddled up the club's slipway to join a female mallard he appears to think is his girlfriend. I especially like the portrait (I was going to say head and shoulders shot, but he's not well-endowed with shoulders); but the full length image is also quite sweet as it shows him standing on his own foot. The mallard, as you can see, is Just Not That Into Him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.