Hummingbird Chick Out of the Nest

The story of the Hummingbird nest's untimely end.  
At 11:00 this morning, I watched the Mom Hummer chase a Chickadee all around, and through, the rhododendron to protect her nest and chicks. (the chicks were very active and "humming" their wings!)  
At 2:30pm my neighbor came to my house to tell me that the nest had been destroyed.
He found it shredded along with one of the chicks on the ground.  
We did our best to reassemble the nest, placing in a blue plastic tray and wedged the tray into the small low shrub on the side of the rhododendron bush.  
With gloved hands we placed the chick into this nest arrangement.  
I checked on the chick at 4:45 pm and found the chick had left the tray and was nestled into the leaves of the shrub seemingly quite content.  
I observed the Mom come and feed the chick with no difficulty.  
It seems the chick must have been able to fly out of the nest in the tray to his new location just a bit away from the tray.  
I decided that the Mom was still running the show, so I let well enough alone. 
It is really very near to being ready to be on it's own, so I believe it still has a chance to make it. 
I must say I'm quite sad to say one of the chicks most likely met its end this afternoon.  
I'm thrilled to say the other chick and Mom Hummer are resilient as could be and are making the best of this disaster!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.