Plants and more plants!

Slightly better today - the floodwater has mostly gone down apart from the site of my Blip yesterday which is still under six inches of water. All OK now - until the next time.

I noticed that Homebase has some good shrubs in today - not particularly rare or unusual, but quite sizeable. I was just thinking today how at one time it seemed fun to take a cutting of an interesting shrub; now it seems sensible to buy the biggest specimen you can find! I bought this Viburnum tinus - I imagine that with its pink flowers it's a cultivar such as 'Eve Price' or similar, but of course it was simply labelled Viburnum tinus. I suppose it's better than being labelled 'Green plant'! I also bought a forsythia; they may be common, but they're very bright and cheering at this time of year. This is a compact cultivar - Forsythia x intermedia 'Minigold' which grows to around a metre or so.

Quote of the Day:

Confucius - “If you think in terms of a year, plant a seed; if in terms of ten years, plant trees; if in terms of 100 years, teach the people.”  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.