Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Bodnant

It’s a stunningly beautiful spring day and we are eagerly anticipating our visit to Bodnant Gardens on the second day of post-lockdown opening. As last year, we have timed entry tickets; everything is Covid safe - we just show our digital ticket through a closed car window, park and walk down to the garden entrance. But it’s immediately clear it’s very busy and I’m afraid my heart sinks. 

I love Bodnant; it’s a year round horticultural discovery, adorned each season with delights, and all against the background of Snowdonia. I feel so privileged to be able to visit any time I like - Covid permitting. I love the space, the sounds, the colours, the smells - a sensory joy, BUT selfishly, even at the best of times, I just don’t want to share it with so many. Now I think lockdown has made many of us want to guard our space, and it will take time before we’re comfortable in crowds. 

Suffice to say, today’s visit does not bring the calm and pleasure I’ve expected. 

Whilst I’ve come to look for figures in my seaside blips, I really don’t want them to intrude today, and it’s hard to get the shots I’ve planned. In fairness, on reflection, several ‘people shots’ work nicely and may well be more interesting than my chosen blip today. Depending on your viewpoint, it’s an icon or a cliche, but in either case it’s the result of patient waiting for a rare people-free moment. 

There will be more - lots more - Bodnant blips to follow, but not, I’ve decided, before the kids go back to school ..... 

But in the meantime, I’ve included a flower collage in the extra. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.