Cottonopolis

By milltownlass

Barometer project

After buying my first barometer, I saw a couple of barometers on ebay that I thought I might try to makeover. At 99p + p+p, how could I go wrong?

Well, neither worked for a start! I did manage to get this one working after a bit of fiddling in the dark. I also managed to snap the glass back of the thermometer when I took it off, but superglue and a bit of gold nail varnish helped to fix it. But, it was a "lovely" teak colour - very 1970's . So, I've sanded and given it 2 coats of paint. OH says to sand again to make it look smoother, then repaint, but I don't know? I like the rustic look it has.

I plan to try painting some flowers on it, and maybe to add some fabric somehow.
If I get it finished anytime soon, I'll blip the finished product (if it looks half decent).

After a hard slog today at work, I actually got to sit down all night to watch a bit of tv. I can't remember the last time I vegged out instead of sitting in the kitchen keeping H company while she does her homework or driving her to and from her activities.

And, my cold is finally on the way out - fingers crossed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.