Lost and found

During lockdown last year I really enjoyed being able to watch the Red Kites go backwards and forwards to their nest in the trees below my kitchen window.  They move their nest each year, and in February they started to balance some twigs rather precariously on a tree not far from last year's nest.  However, over the last few weeks I have seen them flying around with twigs but they never came back to the nest they had started.  I have been trying to work out where they are building.  They never go far, but in a thick woodland it's not easy to spot them.  Over the past week I have been able to narrow down the area as the male Red Kite makes a terrible raucus when they are mating.  So here he is on look-out duty, almost in the centre of the image about three quarters of the way up.  Shortly after I spotted him, the female took off from a nest nearby that has been built in a thicket of small branches, very difficult to see, near the top of a tree just off to the left.  She came back quickly so she is almost certainly sitting on eggs.  Sadly this new nest is about 100m from the old nest and in a part of the wood that I can't see from the house.  Kite spotting is going to be trickier this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.