Hyperion

By Hyperion

Going Down, Coming Up!

The abandoned agricultural machinery stands on the edge of a field near Peter Tavy  in West Devon. I have walked past it many times and cannot resist taking yet another photo from a different angle each time I pass. Today I thought I would take a shot that would look good in black and white. I don't think the light though was right for this and I ended up editing it to create an image  that is more impressionistic. Here, the rusty iron seems to be sinking back into the ground as the sun goes down on a past agricultural age. As this is on the edge of Dartmoor, I thought the soil would be thin and of very poor quality. A little further on though several of the fields were completely covered in mole hills. I have never seen so many in one location. Many were newly excavated and the soil looked exactly like the soil you would like to see in your garden. I kept looking for the most recently excavated mole hill in the hope of seeing it increase in size as the mole burrowed underneath. No such luck!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.