Ladybird Rescue

It was on the sunroom floor and I thought it was dead, until it wriggled its feet - but it couldn't get up.

In the collage:  I picked it up; then, when I turned it round for the photoshoot, it regarded me as a predator and exuded reflex blood over my hand, a protective device called autohaemorrhaging. I took it outside to rest on a plant, sadly devoid of aphids, where it sat for a long time. it had disappeared by the time I checked later on. ?flown away or ?eaten by a bird.

Our walk was to Dreghorn Woods again, to check out the entries for the Woodland Trust's Ancient Tree Inventory. Extra shows Mr Flum's 1.8m height against a Giant Sequoia, said to be 5.58m in girth (position on map). We found most specimens on the map, though had difficulty finding the Norway Maple; looking for the blossom for identification proved worthless as there was none to be seen anywhere (except a modestly sized Wych Elm) but we noted one tree as a possibility. A return when leaves have emerged will decide if we were correct. Along the way we were treated to birdsong, mainly robin and nuthatch, but had sighting of a treecreeper  (at home a return visit from a male blackcap and goldfinches)

Although the day began warm by the time we at the furthest part of the wood the cold wind had picked up, eventually carrying cloud and rain - but we were home by then.

I have added a still from our trail camera to yesterday's blip - a fine adult badger.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.