Sing a Happy Song

The beautiful song warbled by the song thrush carried majestically over the woodland partly cleared by the Forestry Commission which has large areas of open heathland in the Forest of Dean.

Not the great grey shrike I was expecting to find here on Crabtree Hill but then again no change there though today I was fairly confident as it had been seen yesterday. 

The couple a fair way walking behind joyously came up to me as I was photographing a squirrel much later and asked if I'd seen it - er no. There is nothing more galling than smiling delightedly for them as the shrike had rocked up seconds after I'd walked past. I was told to retrace my footsteps which I did, hung around for over an hour, saw it as a speck in the far distance, tried to follow but to no avail. This is the third time since it arrived that it has managed to elude me and it won't be long before it disappears till next winter! 

My song thrush here made up for much no all of my disappointment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.