A spot of cheer

I got a call from my dad around lunch time to find out that his doctor was sending him directly to the hospital for emergency implantation of a pacemaker/defibrillator.  Since I’m 3 hours away from the hospital, he thought he would be finished surgery by the time I got there, but when I arrived I was told he had gotten bumped due to a bigger emergency so was being sent to the ICU until surgery tomorrow. 
The ICU nurses are the bomb - they answer my questions, laugh at my dad’s stories and are literally in here checking on him every 10 minutes.  As his heart rate has gone down as low as 23 I really appreciate that - it doesn’t promote sleep, but I think I’ll be awake all night worrying anyway. My bro is in California for work and I really wish he wasn’t.
Fingers crossed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.