hedge

Day 2 of trimming the beech hedge. It used to be Sarah’s job but now it's mine. We like to do it the slow way, with secateurs, and luckily I'm not short of time just now. It can be quite a meditative task. While I was clipping away, I heard my first chiffchaff of the year. On my walk later on, I heard several more. It seems that, like buses, they never arrive alone..or maybe I'm just tuned into their call now. I was so absorbed in my work that I forgot  our weekly family FaceTime! My brother had to phone me to remind me to join :-). I also had a nice long video call with Luke this evening. Not long until I can see him and walk on Portobello beach again...

Very pleased that Steve, Sean and Bob kindly helped to carry the bench out from its winter hiding place. Thank you!

I had a lovely bivvy last night, at the end of the garden, sheltered from the cold east wind. I slept really well until the dawn chorus woke me soon after 6. Then I pulled my buff over my eyes and went back to sleep for another hour.

Todays walks: Stepford Round 3.57 miles, after dinner stroll 1.48 miles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.