Smell

I needed a day off so I walked Django first thing and then, after dealing with the most urgent work issues, I helped A with one of the gifts she's making for K's 18th on Sunday. After lunch the weather cleared, so I set off on my bike. It was all very pleasant, until I tried to explore the area south of Dalhousie Castle. Suddenly I found myself on narrow twisting paths, with random tree roots and bumps threatening to knock me off my bike. Then I was riding at the top of a sheer drop into the River South Esk. Thus I was having a bad time until I suddenly came on huge, dense banks of wild garlic in flower. I took time out to enjoy being there, at least. Later I ended up navigationally frustrated in an industrial estate beside Newtongrange, only to be assailed with the strong smell of baking biscuits. Pleasant as it was, it made me even more hungry! To get myself home, I feasted on millionaires shortbread bought from a small grocery in Roslin! By then it was a beautifully sunny, if cold evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.