Not an exciting blip but very important

We were delighted to spot this hedgehog hole in a garden fence, neatly framed with a thoughtful step to help the animal through the hole. I have to confess I thought it was a gap for a cat but they would not need such a thing.

It was a walk with a clear purpose this morning, with the expected cold northerly wind. First it was M&S for hot cross buns and a cucumber (Tesco being unable to supply one) and the garden centre for seeds and meal worms.

We discovered yesterday that Doreen’s blue badge is now out of date. Each time it expires you have to reapply giving all the medical details and proof of identity we gave the previous time. As if at 95 she’s better than she was at 92!

This is the 4th time we’ve had to completely apply. Now we have to wait up to 10 weeks for the new badge to arrive. I also spent some time trying to arrange visits to view care homes. I was successful in arranging one visit with two others in the pipeline.

Our MP is the Minister for the Elderly so I wrote to her expressing my feelings about blue badges and numerous other short comings in the provision of care for the elderly. I hope they’re much better when I need them but I don’t hold much hope.

I rounded off the afternoon pricking out seedlings from trays into pots which Susan was chilling in her studio after another stressful day dealing with issues relating to her mum in addition to the blue badge. Chilling out was completed with some uplifting practice on our respective stringed instruments.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.