simisue

By simisue

APRIL FOOL'S DAY

I am very partial to English & French Lavender, but when I came upon this 
SPANISH LAVENDER (Lavendula stoechas) is stopped me in my tracks.
I wanted to learn more, so here are some interesting facts about this lovely, 
drought tolerant perennial flower, (herb!) that is also called BUTTERFLY LAVENDER.

SPANISH LAVENDER is native to the hot dry regions of the Mediterranean,
& North Africa, which is why it is thriving in this sunny spot next to a driveway in Southern California.  It actually tolerates hot, dry climates better than French or English Lavender.

This LAVENDER is long lived (20 years), blooms from Spring to Fall, is fragrant, attracts butterflies & is resistant to deer & rabbits.  This plant has silvery, green leaves & the pink or purple flowers have large upright bracts that resemble rabbit ears.  

Angus was not impressed with this beautiful plant, but I had a strong urge to take a drive to a plant nursery.  Maybe it is time to find a spot for it
in my garden. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.