Cinnamon Bug

Another gorgeous spring day, which brought out this brightly coloured Cinnamon Bug to bask on our golden-leaved Flowering Currant . I had hoped to get out of the garden and go for a proper walk, but a series of commitments made this impossible.

In the evening I took part in an online event organised by the Langdyke Trust - one in their series of "A Conversation with..." The first half was spent largely talking about my love of botany, while much of the second half was about my photography and my forthcoming position as joint Artist-in-residence for the Trust with Kathryn Parsons, who makes delightful miniature sculptures based on natural objects. 

One of the aims of the project is to link art and photography with improved mental health, while another is to encourage people to have fun creating more abstract images. I'll also be experimenting with alternative processes, and made the most of the sunshine over the past couple of days to produce my first cyanotype (see extra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.