HClaireB

By HClaireB

Wrong church

I had very little time to take a photo yesterday, so I thought I would post another of my Top Ten Tallest Buildings in London series. But in my haste I photographed the wrong church :-( So this church was never the tallest building in London - sorry! It's St Dunstan-in-the-West in Fleet Street. The original church was built in about 1000. It escaped the Great Fire of London, was rebuilt in the early 19th century, bombed in the Second World War and restored by a Fleet Street newspaper magnate. Perhaps the most interesting thing about the church today is that as well as being an Anglican church it is also a Romanian Orthodox church, and it is a centre of Christian Unity with a Lutheran altar, an altar dedicated to Oriental Churches (Armenian, Coptic, Syrian, Ethiopian), an altar dedicated to the Roman Catholic church in Utrecht, and a shrine of the Assyrian Church of the East.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.