The Photo Diary of Alison

By alisoncrawford

Another Day in Gangneung

This town proved itself to be everything we'd hoped for and more. We set off in a taxi to the big Harbor and fish market. It was interesting, a bit dirty, a little emotional, and also kind of beautiful. The boats, ocean and time with friends that is. Emotions soared when I set my eyes on the first large octopus alive but curled up in fear inside of a small plastic bowl waiting to be purchased so that he could end up on someones plate. This disgusts me, but I understand it's a cultural difference and many people see animals differently than I do. Maybe they are not aware that octopuses are very intelligent animals, can recognize themselves in a mirror, and were terribly afraid as they awaited their death. Maybe they do realize, because some people here don't seem to mind eating man's best friend. Anyways, just a rant. I could go on for longer on animal cruelty but I'll spare you.

We later walked on the pier and had a little picnic. The fun didn't stop there- when we got back to Gungpo lake we rented some racy little mini bikes and raced around the lake swerving in and out of pedestrians and bicycles. We rode on paths through rice fields and cherry blossoms which lined the lake. A gorgeous scene and so much fun! An excellent ending to a superb weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.