Unexpected

You don’t expect to see toadstools growing in the garden at this time of year.
But this morning there were several of these in an area of rough grass, dead leaves and twigs.

Some research makes me think it is a psathyralla, a genus with 400 species worldwide and 57 in the U.K.


Wikipaedia says they are common and can occur at times when there are few other mushrooms to be seen. 

It seems possible that it is the one called Conical Brittlehead. That one has tiny white stiff hairs on the surface of the cone. The extra was taken through our ancient Open Univerity surplus microscope. I knew it would be useful one day!

As usual if any Blipper friends have a view on its identity I will be very pleased to read it.
Later. A blipper who knows far more than do I has suggested it may be a Brown Mottlegill.  I have now added a shot of the gills in extras.
Fungus id is quite challenging.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.