Anniemay

By Anniemay

Chair

'Halfway up the stairs is the stair where I sit
There isn't any other stair quite like it'

Christopher Robin

'In the corner of my study is the chair where I sit
There isn't any other chair quite like it'

Anniemay

I usually show my 'blips' to my husband prior to publishing them (he's my best and wisest critic). Often he asks 'What's the story?'. He does this in an attempt to make me think about my writing as much as my photographs. He said it this morning which got me thinking. Often my images tell the story themselves and sometimes there isn't a story, I've just taken an image that pleases me. Today the story is more than the image. This is the chair where I usually sit to chat to family and friends on the phone. I used to sit here to chat on the phone to my brother but I can't do that any more. He died just a few months ago, at the age of 56, from prostate cancer. Opposite the chair I have a wall of family photos including one of my brother. I often look across and chat to that but it's just a one way conversation and I can only try to imagine what he would have said back. I miss him a lot but my chair is still there to bring him back to me now and again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.