Chromatic

I was just putting a few pieces in whilst I was waiting for the washing to finish so I could put it out - perfect drying day, well perfect for everything really. Another lovely bright day.

It's an interesting jigsaw. Tricky but satisfying as you can see each colour change, so very gradually, into another colour. One gets better at spotting the right shade, so it must be good for the brain. I once learnt quite a bit about colour theory, but have forgotten most of it now. 

It reminded me of the Colour Museum that used to be in Bradford in one of the old mills. It was set up by the Society of Dyers and Colourists, who were obviously an important part of the wool trade. Sadly it no longer exists and that is a shame as it was a wonderful educational resource. I remember our girls liked it when they were young, as there were all sorts of experiments and tests they could do. They loved it when they tried the colour blindness tests and couldn't understand how their Dad couldn't see the things they saw. I liked the bits about the history of dyes. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.