Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Threedom

It really is three whole years since I left my sweet little island home.
Some core samples; 2015 2016 2017
I remember taking the car and then a ferry and two buses, a plane and finally a van to get from my last home to my first. I remember traipsing round the gift shops in Athens airport, tearfully buying souvenirs-of-Greece, and then sitting outside in the sunshine eating a lemon sorbet. And I remember climbing into the van at Heathrow being acutely aware that at that very moment, Spouse was airside boarding the very same aircraft I had just stepped from; he unaware that I had left, and no doubt being tended to by the very same cabin crew.
I'm still in a kind of limbo; floating, bobbing, but tethered, though I don't think it will be very much longer now before I can begin to move beyond the harbour.
This housebuoy floats in Folkestone harbour, yes, I'm still making use of images from last Sunday.
Folkestone is a gift that just keeps on giving.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.