New life

Being as it is Easter sunday when us Christians celebrate the resurrection of Jesus I felt it appropriate to blip this freshly eclosed male Orange tip.
I could have blipped the whole butterfly, but I was rather taken by this shot. as you can see his beautiful green eyes and the fact that the green  markings on the underwings are actually made up of yellow and black scales and are not green at all.
After this I released him and I have another male to release tomorrow. Of the remaining pupae, one is male and the other 2 are females which typically eclose a bit after the males. I have added a shot of the male and female pupae in my extras - if you look closely you can just see the green eyes as well as the wing markings showing through.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.